For Fans, By Fans

Carlos Delgado: Level of Excellence

Former two-time All-Star Carlos Delgado has been named the next member of the Blue Jays Level of Excellence. The Level of Excellence is an award bestowed by the Toronto Blue Jays, recognizing individual achievement.

In 12 seasons with the club Delgado finished as the franchise leader in 13 categories including home runs, RBI, walks, slugging percentage, OPS, runs, total bases, doubles, extra base hits, times on base, hit by pitch, intentional walks and at bats per home run.

The 2000 season was arguably the best in Blue Jays history as he posted a slash line of .344/.470/.664 with an incredible 1.134 OPS. He finished 4th in MVP voting behind Jason Giambi, Frank Thomas and Alex Rodriguez even though he posted better or similar numbers across the board. Playing in all 162 games he had a career high 57 doubles, 41 home runs, 137 RBI and 378 total bases.

Carlos Delgado will be the 10th member on the Level of Excellence joining previous recipients Dave Stieb, George Bell, Joe Carter, Cito Gaston, Tony Fernandez, Pat Gillick, Tom Cheek, Roberto Alomar and Paul Beeston.

Make sure to mark Sunday July 21, 2013 into your calenders as he first 20,000 fans to enter the ballpark will receive a Commemorative Carlos Delgado Baseball.

Related Posts

One thought on “Carlos Delgado: Level of Excellence

  1. David Harrison Reply

    sounds like someone in the Jays organization is reading and listening to the Jays Listed blog

Leave A Response